Talks: My first film camera – Canon Canonet QL19

By strolling through an unpretentious flea market last weekend, I came across what would soon to be my first film camera.

Our first meeting was a bit awkward – we were not sure about how exactly we were going to be useful to each other. So I kept her in my hands for minutes straight, looking at each detail on her, until the moment that she felt so mine that I simply could not say no.

So I brought her home, for 25 euros. Cheap princess. Is she going to do her job despite the fact of being gorgeous?

 

– Do you shoot film? Show me your work!

– Have you ever used a Canon Canonet QL19? I want to know your experience!

– Do you have some useful tips? Let’s talk!

 

24 thoughts on “Talks: My first film camera – Canon Canonet QL19

    1. Hi Drahul! Thank you so much for your insights! I was in fact searching for ISO 100 films since I want to get the most out of this amazing 1.9 aperture! Now I will take a look at the links you suggested. Thank you once again and hope to get back to you soon with some analogue experiments 🙂

  1. I put a roll of Ektar 100 through my Konica Hexar a few weeks ago. Posted a few on my sites. I do like the results but also the different way you approach photography knowing you only have 36 frames as opposed to hundreds. Hope to see your work soon.

    1. Jeff, that’s exactly one of the aspects that makes it special. Besides that, I really like the result when it comes to image quality and colors – it looks like more like “real photography” and not just a copy of reality (digital quality is so exaggerated good nowadays, that sometimes it looses the special touch). I am looking forward to checking your work! Thank you for stopping by.

    1. Andrew, thanks for sharing your work! Since I am about to start with film, it’s always good to get some inspiration out there, and your work is truly amazing. Thank you for stopping by!

  2. Lovely camera. I have only just started taking film photos on my Pentax SV. It’s a real art to switch back to film. There is no delete, and the only preview is your eyes and imagination. Plus that 2 day wait to see what comes out on your film.

    I have just been putting as many different films in the camera as possible, and experimenting.

    Looking forward to seeing your first roll.

    1. Richard, I’ve already told you how much I enjoyed your work! For a beginner, what you’ve been doing is really amazing, and I look forward to keep following your next posts. I agree with you: shooting film is an art enhanced by imagination, and I can’t wait to experiment it! Thanks for passing by 🙂

  3. I realy enjoyed this post! Oh.. Nice camera By the way! my first one was a Yashica Electro 35!
    But I really like your writing and picture! I’ll be sharing this on my facebook by the way.. Hope you won’t mind 🙂

  4. Congrats on the new camera! I don’t have a Canonet, but I do shoot film on an old Nikon FE. Since the QL19 has a pretty fast lens, I’d second the opinions of your readers to shoot with some good 100 speed film, like Ektar 100. For cloudy winter days, I’d recommend my favorite Fuji Neopan 400 (it’s discontinued, might be hard to find), Ilford HP5 400, and Fuji Pro 400. Have fun! Looking forward to seeing your photos!

Leave a Reply

