Mantova: The 1-day trip methodology

Mantova (or Mantua in English) is a small Italian city part of Lombardia, surrounded by three artificial lakes created during the 12th century, as the city’s defence system. This information itself had already caught my attention, but I got even more interested in visiting Mantova when I got to know that its historical center has been declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 2007. Since it’s very close to Milan and the train tickets cost mere 11 euros, I decided to pay it a visit, using the “1-day trip methodology”.  The city is full of architectural treasures and elegant palaces, and the medieval and Renaissance cityscapes are just stunning.

The more I travel around these small towns in Italy, the more I get addicted to it. I strongly encourage you to quit your job, find some cheap car rides/train tickets, surf some couches and spend at least 3 months discovering the hidden Italian treasures! (The first recomendation is a bit risky, so don’t tell your boss it was my idea!) 😀

18 thoughts on “Mantova: The 1-day trip methodology

  1. Just lovely! I’ve been living in Lombardia for over a year now and I still haven’t made it to Mantova – but thanks for the visual journey 🙂

  2. It’s wonderful to see you living life to the full and exploring at every opportunity Thatiana. How lucky we are to be able to share your journey through your beautiful photos. Molte Grazie 🙂

    1. Andrew, these are beautiful words… With our crazy routines sometimes we think life is getting boring. But the simple moments make everything look better, and give us extra energy to keep going. I’m always very happy to have you around! Grazie a te! 🙂

  3. A wonderful post! I can’t tell you how much I love Italy, and visiting my family there.

    Just look at those huge forms of cheese… delish. They look so well aged. I also love the line of trees by the lake… so beautiful.

    Thanks for sharing this little day trip.

    1. Sometimes I have no words to describe Italy, really. That’s why usually I’m either silent or saying words that are really bellow the acceptable line to describe it. Pictures do a better work, I guess 🙂 The cheese… Ah, the cheese! And the stunning landscapes, all together. Thank you for your visit, Shane! Always good to have you around! Btw, where is your family from?

      1. Your words seem just fine to me, but I always love seeing pictures of Italy.

        My family isn’t far from you. They live in a small town just about one kilometer from Casarsa… San Giovanni.

        Looking forward to your next post 🙂

Leave a Reply

