Cinque Terre: 5 lands, 5 loves

It was in June, but it’s still worth posting, of course. Some university friends gave this trip to me as a birthday gift (!), in order to make us spend the whole day in this beautiful piece of the Earth called Cinque Terre (or “the 5 lands”), in the northern Italy. We went from one beach to another by foot or train in the following direction: Riomaggiore -> Manarola -> Corniglia -> Vernazza -> Monterosso al Mare. Yes, we skipped Corniglia for time reasons, since we were hardly planning to relax a little bit on the beach in Monterosso after seven months of cold and snow. We deserved it! This place is awesome, composed by a beautiful clear sea, rocks and by the very outstanding Italian architecture to ornate every landscape that you look at.

20 thoughts on “Cinque Terre: 5 lands, 5 loves

  1. What an awesome birthday gift, you must have some pretty cool friends! Love the shot of the cat hiding underneath the boat – and the seafood cone. It’s strange to see people on that beach, it was deserted when I was there!

    1. In fact it was a really amazing gift! They gave me two tickets: one to Cinque Terre and one to Bologna (pictures soon). And yes, they are awesome people 😀 Have you tried the seafood cone? Gosh… That was spectacular!

  2. One of our favorite places too. Your photos have taken me right back. I’ll email you one of the paintings I made after our visit to Manarola. Ben’s Cinque Terra pictures are worth visiting too Perhaps I’ll start posting again and include some of mine.

  3. Wow! that’s some birthday gift! And some of the captures are really wonderful…and I love the photos of the cats( I assume they are different individuals! 😀 ) and now we have deduced that your birth month is June( or maybe not!)!! Very enjoyable post! 🙂

    1. Hahahaha you’re completely right 😀 My birthday is on June 1st, and my birthday gifts were: Cinque Terre, Bologna, and Barcelona. Not bad, uh? 😀 Barcelona’s pictures are already uploaded, you can check if you want!

  4. Beautiful photos! I saw that same cat when I was in Monterosso in June of this year! He was sitting at that same kitchen window, watching the chefs cook. Looks like it was a wonderful trip!

    1. Are you kidding? This is awesome! Haha 😀 So maybe this cat is quite famous and I didn’t know that. He was standing there all the time, looking at the kitchen like he was waiting for some pasta to come, hot and yummy. Lovely! I have one more shot of him that I’ll keep for a special occasion. Did you also take one?

      1. Hahaha, yeah, I think he must be famous. When I saw the cat, there were at least 6 other people taking photos of it at the same time. And I did take a photo of the cat – I’m going to start posting photos from my trip to Europe sometime next week. Please feel free to stop by my blog again if you’d like to see them!

      2. If you’re still interested, I’ve posted my photos from Cinque Terre. I only have one photo of the famous cat, though. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

